The Key to You

Daily Prompt: You’ve been given a key that can open one building, room, locker, or box to which you don’t normally have access. How do you use it, and why?

I find myself lost
in my dreams;
in the deepest corners
of my strongest desires.

There, 
I find what I
have been searching for
all  along. 

A golden key
which shines to 
illuminate the entirety
of my mind. 

As I grasp it
firmly in my hands, 
I know it's use. 

The key is to you. 
To understanding you. 
To knowing what you wanted. 
Knowing if what you wanted...
Was me.

I begin to unlock the room
that leads me to you;
to your deepest thoughts
and desires. 

Before the door swings open, 
I awake to find myself
being held
strongly by
you.

You are serene 
in your sleep. 
But your hold on me
never lessens. 
If anything, 
it strengthens 
as you sigh
into the hollow
of my neck.

In that moment, 
I'm assured
and I already know, 
that key would
unlock nothing
I can't see
before me.
Leave a Reply

