Conversations With the Heart

I grip my coffee tightly as the music takes me away. I listen unwillingly to my heart quietly whisper words I have been avoiding.

All I want, is for a gentleman to romanticize me with his words and eyes. Such that a mere glance from across the room will tell me in extravagant detail what his mind is contemplating. And the half smile he casts my way will already say the words he intends to whisper to me later, underneath the stars, where the summer breeze kisses our skin. 

I sigh in frustration before adjusting my music to drown out the words.

Leave a Reply

